Skip to content

It Starts At Home

September 7, 2010

Kurt and Steve waste no time getting to the heart of their message in It Starts At Home–“No matter how creatively we proclaim God’s Word to children at church, they are more likley to believe their experience of faith at home.  That’s because incarnation trumps proclamation.”  Amen, Amen, Amen. And…Lord Help, Lord Help, Lord Help.

The “amen’s” come from the pastor side of me.  I really don’t want to exhaust children’s ministry resources on discipling children of believing parents.  I would rather be reaching into the community of children that have unbelieving parents.  Does that sound strange, cold-hearted, un-shepherd like? It may.  Don’t get me wrong, I deeply feel the burden of having to care for the children of the church just as much as shepherding their parents.  But the Bible seems to indicate that the best way to shepherd the children is through the parents, not primarily the church.

The “Lord help” cry comes from the father in me.  I realize that I am one of the group members that I criticize–parents.  So I desperately need the strengthening of the Spirit (by “strengthening” I mean a swift kick in the pants).  My children are God’s incredibly special gift to me and He is trusting me to raise them to love Him.  My wife and I are representatives of Him to our kids.  I don’t want to fumble the ball!  But when I do fumble, I want my kids to know I messed up and not God.

So I hope you are ready to begin this walk of intentional parenting with me.  If your kids are grown and out of the house, don’t worry, there is still a lot to learn because hopefully you will be a grandparent some day.  If you are single, or married without kids, mark this book up and plant its truths in the banks of your mind.

And men, we lead in this. Let us lead well, with strength and purpose.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Samuels, Robert permalink
    September 7, 2010 6:39 pm

    Thanks for taking the lead in reading the books and encouraging us all to do the same. i notice how you and Christi set a good example of parenting your children at the church picnic. What a needed book (s)to read and be learning to do!!!!

Leave a Reply

