Skip to content

Defeated because of disobedience

May 11, 2010

This week’s chapter in Pursuit of Holiness by Jerry Bridges calls upon us to change the way we talk about our sin.  Instead of saying we have been defeated by sin, we should rather say that we have been disobedient (and i may add unresponsive to the Holy Spirit).  This minor change in our vocabulary does something major in the way we think.  When we say we have been defeated, the inclination is that we put up a good fight, but in the end we lost.  Everyone can respect a good fighter, even if he ends up losing the match.  That is why we love good boxing matches, overtime, and extra innings.  But when we say we have been disobedient to the word of God and the promptings of Spirit of God, we are not let off the hook.  Responsibility is left upon us.  We are not to be passive in the quest (and fight) for holiness.  Disobedience is my fault.  And it is your fault as well.  Let’s strive together to change our vocabulary and the way we view our fight against sin, our striving towards holiness.

One area that I am currently fighting is finding my contentment in Christ.  Just this morning I was told about someone who had much wealth.  Much, much wealth.  I began to think about what I would do if I had much, much wealth.  Would I work?  Would I just spend money?  Would I travel?  What would I be doing differently?  And then it dawned on me–why should I live differently.  Christ is all.  He is my all.  I have it all because I have Christ.  Money and wealth should not motivate me to live differently.  Christ is the risen to live differently.  He is the one who leads me to love my wife and kids correctly.  He is the reason I get up and do what I do?  He is the reason I love what I do.  Why should money change that?  So as of this moment I am fighting to make my mind and heart obedient to the word of God in learning to be content in whatever situation I am in.  And I am in a great situation!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

