Skip to content

Becoming Who We Are

March 17, 2010

Bridges tackles an important aspect of our Christian walk in chapter three–positional holiness and practical holiness.  Those who have trusted in Christ’s work on the cross for their sins and resurrection from death for their life have been made holy.  They didn’t earn it, deserve it, or achieve.  Christ does all the work.  Luther refers to this as the “Great Exchange.”  Jesus, who knew no sin, became sin so that we might become the righteousness of God.  So when we are saved, we are placed in a position of holiness.  This should stir within us ceaseless gratitude and worship.

What i struggle with is practical holiness.  Striving after holiness.  Attaining holiness.  It is not that I don’t desire holiness.  That is why I have chosen this particular book to read and study through.  I struggle with following through with the practical aspects of holiness–praying, studying, attitude, etc.  Anyone else do this?  This is where discipline enters.  Self-discipline and God’s discipline.  Both are serve to lead us into a deeper walk with God, a closer abiding.

I strongly recommend that we reread chapter 3 slowly and thoughtfully, taking notes about our own souls.  Happy and holy reading!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 8:41 am

    I’ve never read a bood quite like this/It’s very good-it’s made me realize–I’m a really good person when you compare me to alot of the people I work with and cross paths with in a days time, but this book has really got my attention on what I should be striving toward in my idea of being holy.

Leave a Reply

